Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Office of the Vice President

Election of the Vice President

Election to the Office
In 1991, the Constitution was amended for the establishment of an Office of the Vice-President. 
The Vice-President of the Republic is elected by a majority of votes of all the members of the National Assembly, holds office for a 5 year term and is eligible for re-election.

To be eligible for election to the Office, the person shall be a citizen of Mauritius, not be less than 40 years of age, and has resided in Mauritius for not less than 5 years preceding the election.
Whilst in Office, the Vice-President shall not hold any other office of emolument or exercise any profession, or engage in any trade or business.


The Vice-President shall at the expiry of his/her term, continue to hold Office until another person assumes Office as Vice-President.
The Office of Vice-President becomes vacant at the expiry of the term of office of the holder or until such time another person assumes office as Vice-President after the latter’s election at the National Assembly or where he/she dies or resigns his/her Office, or is removed or suspended from Office as provided under the Constitution of Mauritius.